Try For Free

Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar yoga is based on the teachings of world-renowned guru, B.K.S. Iyengar and his book Light on Yoga. A stern emphasis is placed on precise technique and alignment in Iyengar yoga, which consists of more than 200 specific poses and 14 different types of breath. Every facet of Iyengar yoga has its own variation, making it accessible to all levels of practice.

Intense Awareness & Discipline of Mind & Body

Iyengar Yoga

What is Iyengar yoga?

In Iyengar yoga, each asana is held for an extended period of time as the students continuously adjust their bodies to correct alignment and deepen the pose’s effects. Child’s poses are taken between each posture to absorb the effects of the shifting energy. This intensive process of holding on and letting go builds stamina and strength in the body and mind. Overall, fewer poses are practiced, but with great devotion and precision.

Students of Iyengar will progress gradually through the system by moving from the simpler, more beginner-focused asanas to intermediate and complex poses. During this highly disciplined process, yogis must use intense awareness to elevate to the next level of their Iyengar Yoga journey.

The focus on alignment is so important to my practice now.

Why practice Iyengar yoga at YogaWorks?

Iyengar yoga can often be considered a more “controlled” form of practice. Emulating the teaching style of B.K.S. Iyengar himself, YogaWorks Iyengar instructors assume an active role in each student’s experience, offering numerous adjustments and alignment cues. YogaWorks’ Iyengar yoga teachers are approachable and accommodating, ensuring the time-honored practice is consistently accessible and rewarding for our modern day students.

As with most YogaWorks studio offerings, we recommend beginning with a Level 1 class if you’re new to Iyengar yoga, and progressing your way through the Iyengar System from there. Iyengar Yoga 1 and 1-2 classes provide a foundational approach and a deeper dive into achieving each pose with precise alignment and breathing cues.

Iyengar Yoga 2-3 and 3 classes are recommended for intermediate to advanced practitioners who have an existing command of the practice and are comfortable exploring the depths of more challenging and intense poses in the Iyengar System.